What the EU does for its citizens: Specific examples

The European Parliament is constantly working to improve the lives of people in the European Union. More than 500 million people in the EU Member States benefit in many ways from the policies of the European Union, whether in their work, studies, leisure activities or family life.

You will find here some examples illustrating some concrete achievements of the EU that show why it is important to take an interest in European politics and exercise your right to vote.

Example 1: End of roaming charges

Since 15 June 2017, people visiting other EU countries have got used to making phone calls as if they were at home. That was the date when new rules entered into force in the EU to eliminate roaming charges for mobile phone calls.

Example 2: Study and train abroad

The Erasmus programme celebrated its 30th birthday in 2017. During this period, it has enabled 9 million people to study, train, do voluntary work or gain work experience abroad. In Luxembourg, 11 853 mobility grants were financed between 2014 and 2018.

Example 3: Living and working without borders

EU citizens can live and work in any Member State. Workers and their families have the right to live in a host country and to be treated in the same way as citizens of that country. The most recent EU measure is the 2015 labour mobility package.

Example 4: Travel with peace of mind

The EU has introduced common fundamental rights to protect and assist passengers, facilitate mobility and foster an internal market in transport, whatever mode of transport is used. There are clear EU-wide rules on when travellers are entitled to compensation for cancellations or delays.

Example 5: Better protection of your data

Since 25 May 2018, as a consumer in the EU, you have been covered by a uniform law on data protection throughout Europe. Companies can no longer base themselves in the country with the lowest level of data protection. The rights of access, deletion and rectification that consumers already enjoy will be partially extended and new rights added.

Example 6: Online shopping in the virtual EU

Geo-blocking is a form of discrimination that prevents online customers from obtaining goods or services via websites located in other Member States. To lift this restriction, the EU adopted a Regulation on geo-blocking which entered into force in all EU Member States in March 2018. Citizens have thus the right to access a wide range of goods and services under the same conditions throughout the EU, wherever they connect and without incurring additional costs.

Example 7: Food safety

In the European Union, food is safer than almost anywhere else in the world, thanks to EU rules. Throughout the food production and distribution chain, mandatory inspections guarantee optimal plant and animal health and ensure that food and feed are safe, of the highest quality, properly labelled and compliant with strict EU standards.

Example 8: Climate protection

The EU has done good work with its policies on climate and energy: CO2 emissions have fallen sharply, while the economy continues to grow. Europe is on track to meet or even exceed its 2020 climate and energy targets.

On 3 October 2018, MEPs adopted draft legislation aimed at reducing carbon dioxide emissions from vehicles and increasing the market share of electric cars. The aim is to reduce CO2 emissions from new cars by 40% by 2030.

Register to vote in the European elections if you wish to help determine the EU’s policies!

Registering to vote in the European elections

Last update

Was die EU für ihre Bürger tut: Konkrete Beispiele

Die Europäische Union ist ständig darum bemüht, die Lebensbedingungen der europäischen Bürgerinnen und Bürger zu verbessern. Mehr als 500 Millionen Menschen in den EU-Mitgliedstaaten profitieren in vielerlei Hinsicht von der politischen Tätigkeit der Europäischen Union. Darunter fallen Bereiche wie Arbeit, Studium, Freizeit oder Familie.

Beispiel 1: Keine Roaming-Gebühren mehr

Seit dem 15. Juni 2017 kann man in anderen EU-Staaten „wie zu Hause telefonieren“. An diesem Tag trat eine neue EU-Regelung in Kraft, mit der die Roaming-Gebühren für Mobiltelefone abgeschafft wurden.

Beispiel 2: Im Ausland studieren und lernen

Im Jahr 2017 feierte das Erasmus-Programm sein 30. Jubiläum. Dank diesem Programm konnten in den letzten 30 Jahren 9 Millionen Menschen im Ausland studieren, eine Ausbildung oder einen Freiwilligendienst absolvieren oder Berufserfahrung sammeln. Zwischen 2014 und 2018 wurden in Luxemburg 11.853 Auslandsaufenthalte finanziert.

Beispiel 3: Leben und arbeiten ohne Grenzen

Bürger der EU können in jedem beliebigen Mitgliedstaat leben und arbeiten. Arbeitnehmer und ihre Familien haben das Recht, im Aufnahmeland zu leben und wie Bürger dieses Landes behandelt zu werden. Die jüngste Maßnahme der EU in diesem Bereich ist das Paket zur Mobilität der Arbeitskräfte von 2015.

Beispiel 4: Sicher reisen

Die EU hat gemeinsame Grundrechte zum Schutz von Passagieren eingeführt. Sie sollen Passagieren Unterstützung bieten, das Reisen erleichtern und den Verkehrsbinnenmarkt fördern. Dabei spielt das gewählte Transportmittel keine Rolle. Auf EU-Ebene gelten klare Regeln für die Fälle, in denen Reisende bei Ausfall oder Verspätung Anspruch auf Schadenersatz haben.

Beispiel 5: Besserer Datenschutz

Seit dem 25. Mai 2018 profitieren Sie als Verbraucher in der EU von einem einheitlichen europäischen Datenschutzgesetz. Unternehmen können nicht mehr in Länder ausweichen, in denen die Daten nicht so gut geschützt werden. Die bestehenden Verbraucherrechte auf Zugang zu Daten sowie auf deren Löschung und Berichtigung werden teilweise erweitert, und es werden noch mehr Rechte hinzukommen.

Beispiel 6: Online-Shopping in der virtuellen EU

Geoblocking ist eine Art von Diskriminierung, die Internetkunden daran hindert, über Websites anderer Mitgliedstaaten auf Produkte oder Dienstleistungen zuzugreifen. Um diese Beschränkung aufzuheben, hat die EU eine Verordnung gegen das Geoblocking beschlossen, die im März 2018 in allen EU-Mitgliedstaaten in Kraft getreten ist.

Beispiel 7: Lebensmittelsicherheit

Dank der EU-Vorschriften gehören die Lebensmittel in der Europäischen Union zu den sichersten der Welt. In der gesamten Lebensmittelkette wird durch obligatorische Überprüfungen eine optimale Pflanzen- und Tiergesundheit garantiert und dafür gesorgt, dass Lebensmittel und Tierfutter sicher und von höchster Qualität sind, korrekt gekennzeichnet werden und die strengen EU‑Normen erfüllen.

Beispiel 8: Klimaschutz

Mit ihrer Klima- und Energiepolitik hat die EU gute Arbeit geleistet: Die CO2-Emissionen wurden stark gesenkt, während gleichzeitig die Wirtschaft weiter wächst. Europa ist auf dem besten Weg, seine Klimaschutz- und Energieziele für 2020 zu erreichen oder sogar zu übertreffen.

Am 3. Oktober 2018 haben die Mitglieder des Europäischen Parlaments einen Gesetzentwurf angenommen, mit dem Kohlendioxid-Emissionen von Autos gesenkt und der Marktanteil von Elektroautos erhöht werden sollen. Das Ziel besteht darin, die CO2-Emissionen von Neuwagen bis 2030 um 40 % zu senken.

Wenn Sie die europäische Politik mitbestimmen möchten, tragen Sie sich in die Wählerverzeichnisse für die Europawahl ein!

Sich in die Wählerverzeichnisse für die Europawahlen eintragen

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am